

Subject LCANZ – AGM 2019

Venue HERA House, Auckland

Date of Meeting 20 June 2019, 10 am.

**Present** John McArthur, Barbara Nebel, Joanne Duncan, Kelly

McLean, Emily Townsend, Adam Schofield, Emma Harding, Jessica Smit, Ajay Morris, Helen Jenkins, Shreyasi Majumdar (by Skype), Stuart Hayman, Kelly

Taylor (contractor).

**Apologies** Kimberly Robertson, Andrew Barber.

#### Description

### **Presidents report**

The President Barbara Nebel thanked HERA for sponsorship of the venue and welcomed everyone to the LCANZ AGM. Round table introductions were shared.

The President provided an update on movement in LCA in New Zealand including the "Life cycle assessment of product systems" included in the rethinking plastics project from the Office of the Prime Ministers chief science advisor, the Productivity Commission "Low emissions economy" report seeks "better information on the emissions embodied in consumer goods and services will contribute." The President also noted thinkstep did a report showing 20% of NZ emissions is from built environment (when taking a consumption perspective rather than production).

Noted 10 EPDs now registered in NZ under EPD Australasia (50 in NZ and AU), which covers enough construction products to now to be useful for developers. Key drivers are still in the Greenstar credits and ISCA calculator.

Major work by the committee this year was the upgrade of the new LCANZ website launched 19 June 2019. The president thanked Emily Townsend for her work on this. It includes a members section, Emily will send out links for members to fill in their own member profiles, including facility to include own case studies.

The president also thanked Shreyasi Majumdar for work on the newsletter, Kimberly Robertson (in absence) for her work as Secretary and the rest of the committee for their work throughout the year.

John McArthur formally thanked Barbara for her 10 years as President.

#### **Financial report**

The Treasurer John McArthur presented the financial statements for the year ending 31 May 2019.

## Description

Income was similar to the previous year, key significant costs were administrative services, website development and sponsorship of student to the ALCAS conference in March. The statements show a significant deficit of approx. \$15k.

John presented a 5 year draft budget which shows funds will be completely depleted within 2-3 years at the current rate. One way to address this is through increasing our subscription rates. Discussion in the meeting fine-tuned the proposed subscription rates and covered the cost reduction options available in coming years. Stuart Hayman raised the point that it was not normal to raise subscription rates in the year already started, John referred to the degree of urgency brought about by some large costs and the fact that subscriptions had not changed since inception ten years ago.

John moved that 31 May 2019 annual accounts be accepted, Emily seconded.

The Treasurer moved that the subscription rates for the 2019 - 2020 year and thereafter, are increased to;

Corporate members; \$360.00 Individual members; \$120.00 Student members; \$40.00

Seconded by Adam Schofield.

The treasurer moves that the Treasurer is empowered to open term deposit accounts as necessary. Kelly McLean seconded.

Emma Harding asked what value members will get for the increased costs. Particularly corporates who have to justify the increased cost to business. Barbara noted that a 6 month plan of events will be put in place following the AGM.

Barbara thanked John for 10 years of services as Treasurer.

Shreyasi left the meeting at 11:40am.

#### **Committee Nominations and Elections**

4 nominations were received for 5 vacancies

- Barbara Nebel standing for re-election
- John McArthur standing for re-election
- Emily Townsend standing for re-election
- Kimberly Robertson retires and is not offering herself for re-election
- Ajay Morris nominated as a new committee member at the AGM.

Existing committee members are; Adam Schofield (to 2020) Shreyasi Majumdar (to 2020) Joanne Duncan (to 2020)

## Description

Kelly McLean (to 2020).

 $\label{thm:conded} \textit{Helen Jenkins moved to re-elect Barbara, John and Emily, Adam seconded.}$ 

AJay Morris nominated, Barbara moved, Adam seconded.

Note: 1 vacancy, call to membership.

## **General Business**

Barbara thanked the committee and members for the achievements in the past year.

# **Meeting closed**

The undersigned affirms that this is a true and correct record of the meeting:

Signed: 3 Nam

Date: 4 July 2019