The Committee consists of nine members who look after the day-to-day affairs of LCANZ. These are:

  • Barbara Nebel

    Dr Barbara Nebel (President)

    Barbara is the Managing Director of PE Australasia. Barbara’s expertise is in Life Cycle Assessment and Life Cycle Management and works with industry and the regulatory environment to the implementation of sustainability strategies. She is experienced in working with industry in materials and product development projects. Prior to joining PE Australasia she worked for Scion, a Crown Research Institute, where she was heading the LCA team and worked for industry and government clients.

  • John McArthur (Treasurer)

    John McArthur (Treasurer)

    John spent much of his career in the Pulp and Paper and composite wood panel industries where he developed and managed Quality Management Systems to ISO9001, and Environmental Management Systems to ISO14001 standards. Given what was considered the hospital pass of the Climate Change spread sheet for Fletcher Wood Panels, John developed this work stream in Fletcher Building  to become their Carbon Reporting Manager developing the enterprise wide global reporting programme. This work fostered a drive for LCA in a number of business units.
    John is now developing a small business, The Carbon Shop, with the objective of helping people understand the impact Climate Change will have on their family’s lives, understand what their carbon emissions are, and help them do something to reduce, or offset, their emissions.

  • Kimberly Robertson (Secretary)

    Kimberly Robertson (Secretary)

    Kimberly is a consultant a Catalyst Ltd where she works within primary production and building industries on the use of life cycle thinking and assessment of products and services to improve their environmental impact. Prior to this she was based in Austria managing an IEA Bioenergy Task on forests and bioenergy, and worked for Scion as a scientist in the climate change and energy group. Kimberly chairs the Best Practice group for LCANZ. She has provided consultancy services to companies, government and international organisations. Recent projects have included the life cycle carbon footprinting of dairy goat milk products, carbon footprinting of kiwifruit packaging and carbon footprinting of flooring products.

  • Adam Schofield

    Adam Schofield

    Adam has worked at Autex for 9 years helping to improve and expand their quality and environmental programmes and helping to turn the systems into an integrated sustainability platform. He  is responsible for driving Autex’s ISO 9001 & ISO 14001 Quality and Environmental Management systems and the life cycle management of Autex’s products and processes and providing the tools, expertise and direction to continue Autex’s journey towards an integrated sustainability life cycle management system. Adam has completed a Bachelors of Engineering in Chemical and Materials from Auckland University in 2004, a Graduate Diploma of Engineering in 2005 and has just completed a Masters in Engineering Studies at Massey University, majoring in Life Cycle Management.

  • Shreyasi Majumdar

    Shreyasi Majumdar

    With a bachelor’s degree in Life Sciences, Shreyasi has worked as a journalist, writer, proof-reader, and editor in India and Singapore. She recently completed a Post Graduate Diploma in Environmental Management from Massey University. During the course of her programme, she studied the foundational as well as the advanced Environmental Life Cycle Assessment papers, which got her keenly interested in Life Cycle Thinking as a major paradigm shift in environmental impact studies and sustainable development programmes. She is now enrolled as a doctoral candidate studying Life Cycle-based sustainability indicators and programme implementations in the New Zealand horticultural sector, and hopes to continue working to advance Life Cycle Thinking in New Zealand.

  • Joanne Duncan

    Joanne Duncan

    Joanne graduated in 2018 with a Post Graduate Diploma in Environmental Management at Massey University. Prior to post graduate study she worked in accountancy in the business sector. The postgraduate study focused on life cycle assessment methodology, zero waste, product stewardship and the circular economy. She is passionate about sustainability in business.   Joanne considers life cycle thinking and methodology provide an important insight and base to promote product stewardship. She is particularly interested in finding the types of incentives which will encourage businesses and consumers to take responsibility for environmental impacts over product life cycles.  She thinks education would be a good place to start. She is a member of wasteMINZ and the Zero Waste Network.

  • Kelly McClean

    Kelly McClean

    Kelly has a strong interest in circular economy strategies, bio-based materials and sustainable design practice. She works at Foodstuffs NZ as Sustainable Packaging Project Manager. Before this, Kelly was a Project Manager at the New Zealand Merino Company, working on a range of innovation and sustainability initiatives across the value chain – including life cycle assessment, Environmental Product Declarations, quality assurance and tech development. She has a Bachelor of Design (1st class Hons), majoring in textiles and in 2014 completed a Masters of Design as a Callaghan Innovation Fellow, from Massey University’s College of Creative Arts. Kelly became an LCANZ member during study towards an LCA and Footprinting Methods paper and looks forward to contributing to the LCANZ committee from an industry perspective.

  • Emily Townsend

    Emily Townsend

    Emily joined the thinkstep Australasia team as a Sustainability Engineer in early 2018, following experience with both product and corporate sustainability in the Infrastructure and Construction Materials sector. In her previous role as Sustainability Programme Manager at Downer New Zealand, her main focus was developing and implementing an Energy Efficiency Programme. Prior to this, Emily was Sustainability Advisor at Tarmac Ltd, in the UK, where she developed and maintained Tarmac’s Carbon Footprint Calculator, providing site- and product-specific carbon footprints across Tarmac’s product range to a broad range of clients and infrastructure projects.

The Committee is elected at every second Annual General Meeting from and by the members of the Association.


Subscribe to receive our newsletters